Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: DTL-T10000 TOOL questions

  1. #1
    Conscript
    Lyth's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Xiolan, Zhongshan, China
    Posts
    85

    DTL-T10000 TOOL questions

    Hey guys.

    I got a T10000 for about $60 on ebay (seller refunded me $20, due to damaged stand).

    This baby needs a good clean.

    The disk drive doesnt work.

    When I press the eject button, the blue light flashes but the tray does not eject.

    I read on the forums that the drive is the same as the one in an old phat ps2. is this true? Could I just swap it out? (Or maybe I could use a pry tool and pry the drive open and such? I think the laser is still good.).

    Also, I see an emulate function on the TOOL. What does this do?

    Last but not least, can this read burned games?

  2. #2
    Admin
    ASSEMbler Regix
    Pillar of the Community
    ASSEMbler's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    17,215
    Blog Entries
    19
    Not the same drive. Only the laser itself.

    Odds are in transit it cracked the pci slots on the backplane. Check.

  3. #3
    Site Supporter 2011
    Site Supporter 2012
    Site Supporter 2013
    Member Elite
    unclejun's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,773
    The sticky dvd drive is a common problem, sometimes the drive will open and close itself directly after, retry until it stays open...
    If you want to disassemble the Tool, look at the disassembly guide available in the first sticky post, it will help you a lot.

    Don't worry about the emulate switch, it's no use to you, it needs extra hardware that you don't have in your unit.
    The official website is http://www.snsys.com/playstation2/dvdemu.asp

    The Tool can run master-patched burned discs, look for Loser's Master Disc patcher.
    All the review and beta games released are already masters, so you can burn them directly.

  4. #4
    Conscript
    Lyth's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Xiolan, Zhongshan, China
    Posts
    85
    The only thing that broke in transit was the stand.

    Unclejun, is it possible to fix a stuck discdrive door?

    Should I attempt to pull it open? I know drives have a feature where they can be manually opened incase a game gets stuck.

  5. #5
    Site Supporter 2011
    Site Supporter 2012
    Site Supporter 2013
    Member Elite
    unclejun's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,773

  6. #6
    Conscript
    Lyth's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Xiolan, Zhongshan, China
    Posts
    85
    My eject LED flashes when I press the button though, Uncle.

    I'll have to open it up and see what exactly is going on (i'll try the 2 fixes that the poster mentioned).

    Like I asked earlier, would it be safe for me to try manually ejecting the drive?

  7. #7
    Site Supporter 2011
    Site Supporter 2012
    Site Supporter 2013
    Member Elite
    unclejun's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,773
    I have the same problem, after a while the drive opens, pulling the tray by hand is probably a bad idea.
    Did you read the entire thread?

  8. #8
    Conscript
    Lyth's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Xiolan, Zhongshan, China
    Posts
    85
    I dont have my glasses on, so I skimmed over it. I'll take a look later.

    And what do you mean after a while it opens? Should I try leaving it on for a while and then pressing the eject button?

    I hope my TOOL isnt like just a giant doorstop (aka junk) because of this :(.

    Is there a command to open to tray?

    edit:

    I just read in a post that the side cover can get in the way of the disk drive door. Gonna try removing it
    Last edited by Lyth; 07-28-2011 at 02:29 PM.

  9. #9
    Site Supporter 2011
    Site Supporter 2012
    Site Supporter 2013
    Member Elite
    unclejun's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,773
    That's exactly what I mean.
    To my knowledge there's no command to open the tray.

  10. #10
    Conscript
    Lyth's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Xiolan, Zhongshan, China
    Posts
    85
    I got the console to boot into TOOL mode.

    But it seems to freeze on the main TOOL screen with all the info :s

    The screen it freezes on looks like this. (I dont have a VGA cord handy, so I havent tested the linux yet)

    When I first got it to boot, it froze at this screen but showed all the information on the screen. Now its just this black bar. I gotta clean this sucker out, and gonna apply new thermal paste. Maybe that will fix the issue?



    This thing hasnt been cleaned out in years.

    edit: If I flip a switch near the bottom of the console to WS mode, then boot it up, it shows all the network information such as hostname, domain, IP, etc. (it seems frozen at this screen too. Nothing in the background moves. I dont have a PS2 controller, but I tried a keyboard and tried a ps1 controller. Both do nothing at this screen.)

    Is this normal?

    What am I supposed to do at this screen? Do I control this screen wutg a controller or with keyboard?
    Last edited by Lyth; 07-28-2011 at 05:23 PM.

  11. #11
    Site Supporter 2011
    Site Supporter 2012
    Site Supporter 2013
    Member Elite
    unclejun's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,773
    It's perfectly normal, this screen onlyshows you the IP of the Tool, connect a PC with a network cable (directly or through a router, by default, the Tool expects to find a DHCP server iirc) and open your webbrowser at the Tool IP address.
    There's no system like the one found on retail/TEST units.
    Plug a monitor in the VGA port next to the network port on the back or use prodg target manager utility to control the Tool.

  12. #12
    Conscript
    Lyth's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Xiolan, Zhongshan, China
    Posts
    85
    Oohh. Awesome. Thanks man! :)

  13. #13
    Conscript
    Lyth's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Xiolan, Zhongshan, China
    Posts
    85
    Unclejun, how long do you need to leave yours on before the drive will eject?

  14. #14
    ASSEMbler Soldier
    l_oliveira's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    3,104
    I can suggest you to purchase some old SCPH-10000 console (in working state) for mechanical parts in case you need spares for your TOOL.

    The drive mechanism assembly is IDENTICAL.
    PlayStation Aficionado.
    MSX Maniac.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •