Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: gameboy dot matrix question

Foot Soldier

gameboy dot matrix question

Ok, so the DMG gameboy uses a dot matrix screen. What about it's offspring?

Gameboy pocket?

gameboy light?

gameboy color?

gameboy advance?

gameboy advance sp?

are any of these dot matrix or are they LCD? I dont know the difference.

N64 Coder Combat Soldier

All Gameboys before the Color are probably STN, after are all TFT.

I think that even the first GBA was STN. They become TFT from the GBA SP.
    But I might be wrong. :)

Foot Soldier

what is STN and TFT?

They are two different tecnologies used to manufacture LCD displays; STN stands for "super twisted nematic display", TFT is the acronym of "thin film transistor".

I'm not a LCD expert so I can't give you an explanation about the differencies of these two technologies but I found these Wikipedia pages that might help you..
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super-twisted_nematic_display
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TFT_LCD

(sorry for my English if I made any errors)
    Last edited by Supersonic; 05-20-2009 at 12:37 AM.

Foot Soldier

Is the original Gameboy screen at once both dot matrix and LCD?

The GameBoy screen is an LCD. It's a matrix of 160x144 dots (or pixels).

Foot Soldier

ok. so each generation of gameboy , it screen i mean, is one technology? compatable with each other (more or less).

i could (in theory) replace a dead gb screen with a gb pocket screen? how about a gb color screen?

ASSEMbler Elite

Just mentioning... All kinds of screens mentioned are just *subtypes* of LCD displays. So all Gameboy consoles use LCDs. It's just that early (B&W) models used the STN type of LCD.

And "Dot Matrix Graphics" on the original GB front intended to mean that it used a matrix of dots to draw pictures instead of the fixed shapes seen on the original Game and Watch LCDs.

Foot Soldier

Quote Originally Posted by l_oliveira