I wrote that reply in a bit of a hurry, but my general message was that every post that encourages a calm, collected atmosphere will have a positive effect on the community's sentiment as a whole. (At least, at these forums; I expect more Resident Evil-centric boards to have more "enthusiastic" individuals.) Basically, the more adult we all act, the more adult the proceedings. This is vital since both supporters and alleged owners of a beta have demonstrated bad behavior, which contributes even more to the fever pitch that sets in when talk of 1.5 commences.
As for Drunkdog306, I'm not sure what to make of his post. I don't know what's really being displayed in those images, but, perhaps, someone here can shed more light on what files are being shown. Whatever the case, his "That's as close as most of you will ever get." is the very type of sentiment I would like to avoid.
Last edited by BobNewbie; 08-05-2012 at 10:29 AM.
As always, I'm more than prepared to throw my hands up and admit if I'm wrong, but those images that Drunkdog306 uploaded don't seem very legitimate to me... here's why I think that's the case:
From what I can tell, it seems the files were saved in some kind of archive format (perhaps WinRAR) and modified in the later months of 2010 - even if they were genuine, it's likely they've been altered in some way from the original, assuming such a source even exists in the first place. Of course, it could be they were simply compiled into that file around this period. Assuming this is real, my guess is that someone was sent a compressed document containing elements from a prototype, possibly to prove they had a copy in the first place or maybe as a way of donating backgrounds to a fan remake/hacking project.
On the other hand, the file structure seems completely different to the final version of Biohazard 2. Then again, since all of the files share a uniform naming structure and size, perhaps this really was how Capcom was doing things prior to development being restarted? However, I was under the impression that the first three games all used the same engine, with backgrounds stored in a similar method. Surely the lack of numbered file names and known proprietary extensions as seen in other titles is further food for thought to suggest that not all is what it seems with this particular claim of ownership? Besides, why would they then go back and have 1.5 era files in pre-release versions of Biohazard 2 using the same formats as the retail code?
Also, when did Capcom name rooms after characters, and why would they have used the phrase "1.5" unless these were retitled following the change in direction as a way of preserving all previous work, suggesting these files may be from the last known build. Whatever the case, it's highly unlikely we'll ever get to find out more from this person. That one phrase confirms that we're dealing with yet another individual who has no intention of sharing what they have, whether due to fear of being exposed as a fraud or pursuit from Capcom.
I can see Capcom naming the rooms after people if the rooms were only supposed to be accessed by that character, and a different version/route made for the other character in a very early build, but the 1.5 file extension just screams of fake tbf.
Who knows, the 1.5 saga goes on and hopefully (everything crossed) we will see the end of it soon.
Resident Evil: Distant Memories http://team96blog.blogspot.com.au/ - A New Dawn on an Era.
So maybe this person never had a prototype? In other words, what they meant is that the closest most of us will ever get to playing 1.5 is through hacking files in the final version of Biohazard 2!
Well, those files are definitively not identical (the CRC32 wouldn't be so different for each entry), but the name convention and the total size is a clear example of poorly executed fake. Who made it was a complete ignorant, no doubt about it.
I'm glad that you guys put your two cents in on the DrunkDog306 issue. Knowing that he's a fraud takes him out of the list of potential "1.5 owners." The more respectable that list appears, the better the community will behave.
If people want some trivia; some people are actually sitting on legit and unreleased data for prototypes such as this one. The reason they don't share what little "ZOMG EXCLUSIVE!!1!!" data they have is to ensure that anyone who tries to pull any sort of elaborate fake stunt can be shot down easily by just running things up against the non-public information they're not sharing to the public.
Doesn't it feel good knowing there are people out there looking out for you and your best interests?
Double-Post. D'oh.
Last edited by AleffCorrea; 08-06-2012 at 09:08 PM.
Insert stupid poem here.
Yes that's a cool trivia, but I did knew that the Bioflames admin (forgot his username) has some exclusive screenies to compare against possible fakes.
By the way, I can't believe Black~Crow is the one who is always referenced with his 1.5 layout maps... he looks like the Tin Foil Hat Conspirationist kind of guy... everyone has 1.5, OKeiji owes him his Resident Evil documentary, etc... to be honest with you I would have banned him already if I were an admin. That guy get on my nerves.
Last edited by AleffCorrea; 08-06-2012 at 09:07 PM.
Insert stupid poem here.
What would I give if people would just stop making jokes and confusing posts like that one once and for all...
It would certainly help avoiding a great deal of unnecessary and annoying confusion and conspiracy theories all over the net.
This is especially true of 1.5, few other prototypes produced as much cyberspace bullshit as that one...
Oh, actually reading what other people write (and making sure that you get it right before you pass it on) would also help preventing the spread of false information on the internet.
Last edited by upaluppa; 08-10-2012 at 07:07 AM.
"Credo!"
"I forget about this thread for how long, come back and you all are assuming i was claiming to have 1.5. No i do not have resident evil 1.5, those files are a mod for the pc version that let you play 1.5 rooms. Haha, shit."
Just copied from my subscription mail to avoid more delusional people onto you. Haha
Insert stupid poem here.
Not to be obnoxious, but the MSN message from "Christine" does not discount the remaining information in the image; "Christine" is completely "out of scope" in regards to the argument. It does highlight an issue, though - Enthusiasts assume anyone that claims to have a 1.5 prototype is legitimate until proven fake. Indeed, in their hopes of finding 1.5 data, fans allow literally anyone to step forward. At this point, though, I suspect that only new screen shots with irrefutable 1.5 content would be believed. (After all, the community will reliably tear apart and compare these images. This has been happening in this very thread with the Facebook Group's contributions.) In addition, those that are willing to provide new images are probably the most likely to listen to the community and their requests.
Still, my own focus will remain on the Facebook Group's project, since I highly doubt any new parties in possession of 1.5 data would emerge around this same time. In regards to Drunkdog306, though, I'm glad you guys threw your "two cents" in to help disprove his claims.
What cheap prank? i was just to lazy to edit out the msn pop-up. Jesus, you guys think into shit way to hard. It was never a prank, i was never claiming to own or have 1.5, those screens i posted were always save files that were modded.... letting you play 1.5 rooms. I stated " this is as close as any of you will ever get " or whatever the hell i said because the modded files let you play actual 1.5. rooms/backgrounds.
I know 1.5 information and what not makes the hardcore fans go crazy and research (maybe a little to much)..... but seriously don't over think a situation and start assuming shit, because all of you were wrong.
You are 100 percent right, there was never an admission of anything, i'm seriously confused by all this shit LOL
Haha thanks, i edited it because i felt i didn't need to explain this silliness but it's good that this gets out. Shesh, this is what happens when people assume stuff.... and actually think there's something behind it (with out doing the proper research or contacting the person )
Can you inform me on what "claims" i made regarding owning 1.5? can ANY of you on this forum who assumed i was getting at that show me where i ever made a claim of owning 1.5? i never ONCE said, stated or "claimed" i owned or had resident evil 1.5. I posted three pictures of a very sick mod that let's you play 1.5 rights, you all assumed i was hinting that i had it and i didn't mean for it to come off that way what-so-ever. My bad though, i'v been a part of this 1.5 community for 10 plus years, waiting and waiting, getting excited when new shit pops up like the rest of us so i should of known this would of caused a tsunami (stir is not an applicable word)
As for the Italian people, persons or group that is working on this. It's for real.... the only problem is, contact has been cut, there has been no new information or screen shot from these guys for around a month now. The chances of them actually releasing it are pretty slim. I'm hoping for a release like the rest of us but i just don't see it happening any time soon.
Last edited by browzers; 08-07-2012 at 07:17 PM.
Bookmarks